Back to the Bananas

Banana Peppers Turning Red

Banana Peppers Turning Red

Peppers that is. I had to come up with a different title because honestly I thought some of you might be tired of hearing about banana peppers. These peppers are so interesting to me because up until about a year ago they were nothing more than something I pulled from a jar to put on a sandwich. Now they are a plant that I am growing in the garden and they produce so many fruits that I am forced to think of different ideas to use them in. This particular idea came from the chipotle chili concept. Chipotle peppers are red jalapeno peppers that are smoked, thus producing the chipotle. The name is derivided from theNahuatl word chilpoctli which means “smoked pepper”. As I stumbled into the kitchen this morning for my cup of coffee I noticed that many of my banana peppers had turned red. I do not have the slit-est clue why this happened. But at the same time I noticed this it came to my mind that I should smoke them in the chipotle fashion.

Smoked Banana Peppers

Smoked Banana Peppers

So smoke them I did. I combined apple wood and hickory and smoked the red peppers (and some of the regular yellow green peppers as well) at 180 F for roughly 8 hours until they all looked very dehydrated and well smoked. Now I am not sure what to do with them. Do I grind them up and use them as a seasoning? Or do I blend them with a soft vinegar and some sugar and make them into a paste? Maybe I should simply can them and allow the flavors to develop over time and re explore them in the future? Quite possibly I will do all that I just mentioned. Time will tell.

— matt bolus

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Flavor, Garden, Ideas, Matt Bolus, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Back to the Bananas

  1. p3t3or

    I realize this post was 4 years ago, but what did you end up doing with them?

    • dmbolus

      I used them in various ways. Grinding them was good. It seemed to hold the flavor well and then they could be used for dry rubs, seasoning soups or chilies, or mixed with salt as a finishing garnish. I used them whole to infuse the flavor into a few soups and chili (not my favorite). Vinegar was infused with a few which turned out very delicate but nice. And finally I broke some in the mortar and pestle and mixed them with brown sugar, salt, apple cider vinegar, and olive oil to produce a quite interesting paste that I used in salsa, chilies, as a meat rub (precooking), and hopefully as a preservative (I have not opened the jars yet).

Leave a Reply

