Tabasco Peppers

Tabasco Peppers

Tabasco Peppers

I know it probably seems like I am hung up on peppers these days but honestly that is what I have the most of in the garden right now that I am able to pick. My Tabasco peppers are now starting to ripen I am in a dilemma as to what to do with them. I researched the recipes on how to make my own “Tabasco” sauce and have now decided to hold my peppers in apple cider vinegar until the season is over. Basically from what I have read the recipe is simple, harvest the peppers and blend them with sugar and vinegar, ferment the combination in an oak barrel (though I am not sure how I will do that), and then blend the final product with salt and more sugar if needed.

Tabasco Peppers in Vinegar

Tabasco Peppers in Vinegar

So I have decided that while I wait for all of the peppers to mature I will hold them in an organic apple cider vinegar, and once the season for peppers is complete I will embark on the construction of my own version of the ever so popular “Tabasco Sauce”.

— matt bolus

5 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Flavor, Garden, Ideas, Matt Bolus, Uncategorized, Vinegar

5 responses to “Tabasco Peppers

  1. Hm … any reason why you chose apple cider vinegar over plain ole’ white?

  2. dmbolus

    White vinegar is a product of pure grain alcohol, thus lacks any flavor other than the vinegar bite. Truthfully the only culinary use I have for white vinegar is for cleaning copper pots and the plancha. The reason I chose apple cider is for the flavor. I almost used a white balsamic but thought it might be just a bit to pungent for the end result. The apple cider vinegar I am hoping adds the zing of vinegar but also a touch of flavor depth to the final hot sauce.

  3. Jeff

    I would love to know how this turned out!

    I am currently having the same dilema. I decided to grow Tabasco peppers this year just to try something new. I had no idea how much heat these little things packed. Upon browsing for recipes I came across your page. I’d be interested in hearing more if you are willing to share.

  4. Jean Siriano

    I have the same…one plant…100’s of peppers. I saw a recipe somewhere which is similar with the cider vinegar, a little sugar and olive oil, put in a cleaned bottle, refrigerate and use the juice to season with. Wonder if this works…sounds like it might for barbecue, chili, chicken, etc.
    Jean

  5. Kelly

    I have a LOT of Tabascos this year. As they get ripe I pick them and throw them in a ziploc in the freezer. Just take out the amount I need, wash them dry them, then use. Just got done making the little gems packed in vinegar and salt. Made Tabasco sauce last week With carrots,Tabasco peppers, lime, vinegar,onion and a little oil. I just followed a Habanero sauce recipe substituting the Tabascos for the Habaneros. It’s easy to make and sooo addictive lol.

Leave a Reply

