Next step for the coriander seed

My plants have now started turning brown ever so slightly. In the past few weeks I have done some research about the harvesting of coriander seed and found it to be a fairly simple process. Cut the plants off, invert into a paper bag, hang in a cool dry place for a week or so, and then shake gently to release the seeds. Simple I will keep it then. Today the plants were cut and secured in a brown paper bag and hung in the kitchen. I really don’t have a cool dry dark place to hang things like this plus I want to have a constant eye on what is happening.

So I carefully cut the plants off at the base of the stem. I wanted to leave any vibrant green stems on the plant to allow them to continue to go to seed. I have learned that this can continue for some time and I do not want to stop the process. Cut coriander stems

Then I secured the base of the bundle and Kelly and I carefully put them in a brown paper bag upside down. I tied some more butchers twine around the top of the bag and hung the parcel in the kitchen. Now we have to wait a week or so until the plant is completely dry, at which point we will give it a good gentle shake or two or three, depending on what we hear, and then we have coriander seed fresh from the garden. Coriander seed hanging to dry

My plan is, after researching the whole thing, is to save some of the seeds for replanting. According to all that I have read the Cilantro plant is extremely hardy in that it sprouts easily and grows quickly. If all goes as planned I will replant the seeds in the same pots (only one at a time, I will explain below), sprout them, enjoy the leaves and stems as the plant grows and then allow it to go to seed again. This particular species of cilantro quickly goes to seed in extreme heat (as we currently have in Charleston) so in theory I should have a good rotation of edible leaves and plants going to seed all at the same time. I know this is knowledge the human race figured out hundreds, or thousands of years ago but it is new to me and I am excited about it.

I have also discovered that my parsley plants and dill plants both are starting to go to seed. The wonders of bad weather can some times bring good fortune. And remember those who can not find happiness in any situation will not be happy in any situation. A wonderful quote I heard long ago that I try to remember when I am watering the plants in 100 degree weather because we have not had rain in weeks.

–matt bolus

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Flavor, Garden, Ideas, Matt Bolus, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Next step for the coriander seed

  1. Thanks for the coriander seed tips. I just went out and did that today after reading your post. Take care!

  2. You’re like my brother from another mother 🙂
    Good luck with everything.

Leave a Reply

