New Book I am Reading

After my last trip to New York City with my wife Kelly I sat down and decided to write letters to all the places I had been to just to say “Thank You”. One of the letters I wrote was to Danny Meyer, the CEO of Union Square Hospitality Group. This group owns ten restaurants in the city and from my experience in two of them they all have to be wonderful. Much to my surprise Mr. Meyer wrote me back, which said quite a bit to me. After receiving his letter I did a bit more research on him and found out that he had a new book out entitled “Setting the Table”. Well I did, as I am sure you expected, go out and immediately purchase a copy. Since reading it there is no doubt in my mind why this gentleman and restauranteur has gone so far and been so sucessful. This book is a must for all of those in the industry, front or back of the house. It is also, in my opinion, a must for anyone who owns their own business. It is just a hope of mine that I may one day spend some time with Mr. Meyer picking his brain and absorbing all that he can teach me. Below is an image of the cover of the book. I do have to admit thought that my reading of his book was interupted by the book I previously mentioned “The Perfect Pig”. Sorry Danny, I do hope you understand, sometimes a bad day requires different remedies.

The Transforming Power of Hospitality in Business

You can also find a link to the Union Square Hospitality Group to the right of the page, which will also provide you links to all of their wonderful restaurants.

–matt bolus

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Ideas, Matt Bolus, Restaurant, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

