Duck Eggs

Fresh Duck Eggs

Fresh Duck Eggs

I stopped back at the market today to buy some more fresh chicken eggs. Much to my disappointment they were all sold out. One of the guys behind the counter was kind enough to go check the nests to see if any new ones had been layed since they last looked. Again, nothing. Not to worry though I had a chat with the two guys there and told them what I was doing with the restaurant and the blog. Then the question came, do you want duck eggs? Of course I do I replied. I have purchased duck eggs in the past and have had the pleasure (and displeasure when you get one with a baby duck) of cooking them in various restaurants. I come to find out that no one around there wants them and they have been throwing them out in an attempt to keep the duck population at bay. Seven glorious and fresh duck eggs came out of the back and I brought them home, I also promised to purchase each and every duck egg they harvested everyday. Quickly washed and paid for the eggs where on the way home.

Once I arrived at the house and inspected the eggs I realized that one of them had a slight crack in it. Not to worry this just means I have to cook it immediately, which I happily did. I had to of course look at it and measure some things so I knew what I was dealing with. The egg, out of the shell, weighed in at 64 grams. It had a yolk 2 1/8 inches wide that stood just over an inch tall and the total width of the egg (white and yolk) was 3 3/4 inches. The color of the yolk was deep yellowish orange, like a piece of metal on the verge of rusting. With just enough oil to coat the bottom of the pan and a light sprinkle of sea salt I set the egg into the pan over a low medium heat. Quickly the white of the egg took shape, almost perfectly round (the eggs had just been layed hours before meaning the albumen had not had a chance to release the moisture). I let the bottom of the egg fry to a lightly golden brown and then flipped it over for a few seconds. When cooking with duck eggs it usually takes longer to achieve the over easy cooking because the yolks are so thick. After cooking for about 45 seconds on the top I removed the egg and put it on the plate. The egg was beautiful and smelled of roasted duck when it was finished cooking. I have never noticed this smell before and can not say if it was the freshness of the egg or the fact that this was the only thing cooking that lead me to realize the wonderful scent. Cutting into it released the deep colored liquid yolk. Then tasting it made both Kelly and I stop and think for a second. What we tasted was perfect in all aspects. It was rich and balanced, creamy, smooth, and had a wonderful flavor of egg and poultry. I had originally planned on cooking these eggs in the smoked duck fat that I collected when I smoked off the legs of the duck from the photo shoot. I have to say that this was not needed at all. That is not to say that I will not try it, of course I will. What I am saying is the duck egg in and of itself is perfect. No additional flavors are needed. The only two accompaniments that I would pair this with to create the ultimate dish would be homemade English muffins and a shaving of white Alba truffles. That would be the perfect way to experience not only the duck egg but the truffle at the same time.

– matt bolus

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Flavor, Ideas, Matt Bolus, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Duck Eggs

  1. nice posting…..i like it….

  2. good article…..i like it!

  3. Aw, this was a really nice post. In thought I wish to write like this – taking time and precise effort to make a very good article is very rare…

Leave a Reply

