Canning the Banana Peppers

Starting off

Going out of town this weekend lead me to have to decide what to do with all of the beautiful banana peppers that I have picked (I picked roughly 14 more since I last wrote about them). So I settled with canning them. This is not to say that canning is a bad thing, canning is wonderful and addictive. Once you start canning things from your garden you will not stop. You start to look for things to can. Canned Grape LeavesI know this from experience. I was triming my grape plants last year and did not want to throw away all of the leaves on the branches I was cutting off. A lover of stuffed grape leaves I decided to brine them and can them for future use. Brilliant idea, as now I have enough grape leaves to last me for at least 12 maybe 15 years of grape leaf enjoyment. That is not going to stop me however from doing the same thing this year.

So back to the banana peppers. I am used to banana peppers coming in jars and cut into rings. This is a great thing for sandwiches, and for those of you who don’t know I am a huge fan of sandwiches. But what if you want it for a salad, or single element on a dish? The rings just don’t have the same appeal then. I had enough peppers for three jars and decided to do two of them in the traditional ring manner (though I did not go as frilly as the store bought ones with the ruffled edges, I simply sliced mine), and one jar of whole peppers with the tops removed. I canned them in a simple solution of salt, water, yellow mustard seed, and vinegar. To each jar I added a clove of garlic and 15 mixed peppercorns.

Pepper Slices

Top Removed

Whole Peppers

All finished now. All the tops sunk in, indicating the seal took. For now I will have to let them rest and let the flavors get to know each other, at least for the weekend.

Finished Jars

I will have plenty more in the next few weeks to play with and this batch will have to go to the sandwiches.

–matt bolus

11 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Flavor, Garden, Ideas, Matt Bolus, Uncategorized, Vinegar

11 responses to “Canning the Banana Peppers

  1. Peg Caudill

    What are your proportions of vinegar to water?

    We have an abundance of banana, jalapeno & cayennes.

    Thanks

  2. dmbolus

    The water to vinegar ratio is four parts water to one part vinegar. This with the salt, sugar, and spices leads to a tart finish but nothing near full strength vinegar. I have neve canned cayenne peppers before. Everything I have ever read or heard suggested that using cayennes in their raw state can easily give someone stomach issues and that drying them out helps to elimate this problem. Please tell me how they end up. For the jalapenos, I have canned them but used less sugar and did more of a pickle if you will. I have also smoked them and plan on doing that this year as well.

  3. Can you provide the recipe you posted for canning banana peppers? I’d like to know specifically the measurements for :I canned them in a simple solution of salt, water, yellow mustard seed, and vinegar. To each jar I added a clove of garlic and 15 mixed peppercorns.

    thank you

  4. Kelli McCloud

    Will you please provide me with the recipe for the canning banana peppers? I would like to try this recipe for my family who loves banana pepper on about everything. I need the measurement of the brine solution for: ” I canned them in a simple solution of salt, water, yellow mustard seed, and vinegar. To each jar I added a clove of garlic and 15 mixed peppercorns” and if you need to bring this to a boil or use cold.

  5. Molly

    Could you share the amounts of salt, water, mustard seed, etc that you used. I have been searching for a recipe exactly like this- and can’t seem to find the proportions. Thank you!

  6. adam seitz

    This is my first year canning and I am catching the canning fever. I love banana peppers and I have tons of them in my garden. I tried canning them and I wasn’t happy with the results. I was wondering if you could reply and let me know the measurments of everything and if you and help me out with my canning needs. thank you so much, hope to hear from you.

  7. How do you process the cans? Do you boil or can cold? And, if you boil, how long? And, if you boil, do the peppers still have a crisp texture?

  8. I really need the measurements for canning banana pappers ASAP. My son has grown them and I would like to can them. I used to can dill pickles, bread and butter pickles, tomatoes, and corn relish. I don’t have enough time to can as I used too. I am from Missouri.

  9. Bill Meiring

    Can you send me your recipe for the canning banana peppers?

  10. sandy

    A SWEET HOT PEPPER recipe I received from my brother-in-law is similar to your recipes above…
    1/2 bushel peppers cut up
    15 cups vinegar (1 gallon),I use cider vinegar
    3 cups water
    7.5 cups sugar (I use approx 5 cups sugar)
    Bring to boil.
    Heat jars in oven 200degree, heat lids in hot water
    In bottom of quart jars, after heated:
    2 cloves garlic
    1 tsp salt
    1 and1/2 tsp crushed hot red pepper
    (I also add half a hot pepper for a more intense heat)
    Pack in cold pepper slices. Fill with hot brine, wipe off rim of jar, place lid on and screw on ring then flip jar upside down and they will seal. Use caution when placing hot brine in warm jar, afew of my jars broke.
    after reading your recipes I am going to add mustard seeds to mu recipe

  11. Hannah Owings

    i have been looking for a good website to give me directions on how to prepare good canned banana peppers im not sure what to do or where to find out so if anybody would be kind enough to give me a good website to go to i would be thankful. please and thank you

Leave a Reply

